giving up softdrinks for lent

3 weeks into lent, i haven’t been true to my pledge yet. maybe because i haven’t put it down into a ‘contract’. so now, i’m just putting it here:

NO SODA UNTIL EASTER.

yes, starting today, i have about a month with no Mountain Dew. (i cried a little after typing that.)

i will not deny myself yet of other sugary drinks though. i want to make sure i’m doing this for the right reasons and not mistake it for doing it for health reasons. i want to know if i’m capable of giving up something i really really like drinking regularly.

i know a lot of bad effects of soda but it hasn’t stopped me from drinking a lot of it. there was this time in my early 20s that i’d drink a liter of softdrink at night with my meal and watching movies on the laptop in my room. every night. yes, that was 4 times a week. (i still went home to the province in other days so i’d do this Monday through Thursday night. I’d be back home by Friday evening.)

actually, the spending stopped me from continuing the bad habit, not the ill effects on my health. now, it’s a purge of the unnecessary stuff that i cling on to. a battle of the will — to give up something not just for your own benefit, and deny yourself of the pleasures you derive from them.

please pray that i succeed.

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

